In the beginning of His great homily known as the Sermon on the Mount, Jesus presented His plan for the radical transformation of hearts and lives in the blessings known as "the Beatitudes." The Sinai Covenant also contained Beatitudes (see Lev 26:3-13 and Deut 28:1-14); however, the blessings for obedience in the Sinai Covenant were followed by curses for disobedience (Lev 26:14-46; Deut 28:15-68). Unlike the blessings of the Sinai Covenant, the Beatitudes contain seven or eight (depending on how you count them) successive fundamental spiritual states that every Christian must strive to achieve followed by promises for obedience. The Beatitudes must be lived fully and completely just as the Law of the Ten Commandments must be lived in their entirety.

Jesus preached the Beatitudes as God's New Covenant Law in a plan for our salvation journey to heaven. Like any journey there is a beginning point and a destination, but what Jesus presented in that great homily was more than the road map for the journey. What He called us to experience was the plan for an intimate relationship with God that would allow us to walk in His steps on our journey of faith to salvation and eternal life. But this is a plan that cannot be achieved on a human level "only through Christ can this blessedness be empowered and celebrated in the life of the New Covenant believer: For what is impossible for man (human beings) is possible for God (Luke 18:27).

We hope you enjoy this study on Jesus' call for the radical transformation of minds and hearts. These lessons are formatted for individual or group study. Please pray before you begin each lesson that God the Holy Spirit will guide you in your study, and please close each lesson in a pray of thanksgiving for God's mercy and steadfast love.

Yours in the love of the Savior,

All Scripture is inspired by God and useful for refuting error, for guiding people's lives and teaching them to be upright. This is how someone who is dedicated to God becomes fully equipped and ready of any good work
(2 Timothy 3:14-17).

Index of Lessons:

Lesson 1: Prelude to Pentecost

Lesson 2: Comparing the Two Beatitude Sermons

Lesson 3: Blessed Are the Poor in Spirit

Lesson 4: Blessed Are Those Who Mourn

Lesson 5: Blessed Are the Meek

Lesson 6: Blessed Are Those Who Hunger and Thirst for Righteousness

Lesson 7: Blessed Are the Merciful

Lesson 8: Blessed Are the Pure in Heart

Lesson 9: Blessed Are the Peacemakers

Lesson 10: Blessed Are the Persecuted

Michal Hunt, Copyright © 2008 Agape Bible Study. Permissions All Rights Reserved.